RSS

Cousins Camp

11 Aug

night falls on the camp site
Here we are sitting around chatting after a day of travel.

A few years ago mom Johnson, her brother, and their two cousins realized that they didn’t get together often enough. With families living in Missouri, Oklahoma, and Texas it takes some effort to see each other, so they decided it was time to make “Cousins Camp” an annual event. Since I married into the family this year I was able to enjoy the third annual camping trip. It was nice to spend time with Shannon’s relatives and meet some new ones.

One of the highlights of the trip was the day on the lake skiing and tubing.
Heather and Jonathan tubing
Shannon wanted to take it easy, so Heather joined me for the wild ride.
I tried to ski but found it difficult to stay up. The water was pleasant though so it was nice getting wet whether I skied well or not.

I also enjoyed seeing all the nature around us. We went snorkeling and saw some fish swimming among the big rocks. The woods were full of neat plants and fungi.
red mushroom
Heather saw lots of cool mushrooms on her walk in the woods.

a flower
Shannon and I saw this flower on our walk Friday morning.

It was fun waking up to the sounds of birds. The great blue heron is graceful in flight but it makes a the funnest squawk. I saw one fly by while Daniel was fishing. He really wanted to fish, so just before we left I went down to the shore and helped him fish, but he didn’t get anything.
Daniel fishing
We found a beetle and used it as bait, but the fish cleaned his hook. I hate when that happens!

Another of the highlights was all the good food! We had a couple good cooks that put on some great meals.
Dinner
We had a traditional cookout Friday night.

FIESTA
Mom and her brother Larry enjoyed Saturday night’s Fiesta. It was a big hit and I think its going to be part of the annual tradition.

Sunday brunch
We topped it off with brunch on Sunday. I can’t decide if I liked brunch better or Fiesta night. They were both favorites!

iced coffee
Cousin Stephanie brought iced coffee. We all enjoyed it. Cheers!

We are looking forward to another fun gathering next year!

-Jonathan

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Cousins Camp

  1. Nancy Wedge

    September 7, 2009 at 2:35 am

    So…which Wedge’s are you? There aren’t many. My family is in LA….and there are a bunch of us! I think the older generation came from upstate New York. A Wedge was the librarian of Dartmouth College for many years.

     
    • wedgesite

      September 7, 2009 at 4:31 pm

      My family is from Allegan Michigan. We still go back there for family reunions. My grandpa moved his family around a lot, but he settled in Kalamazoo when my dad was in high school. After they got married my dad and mom moved to Grand Rapids. That’s where I was born and raised. I have a cousin Oklahoma, one in Illinois, two in San Diego with the military. Most of my aunts and uncles and cousins are still in Michigan. I married a woman from Missouri and now we live in Camdenton, MO.

       

Leave a Reply

 
